Central waste water treatment plant, Zagreb

Central waste water treatment plant, Zagreb

This plant uses a combined heat and power station that produces more regenerative energy than is actually required for the secure operation of the plant.
Completing the „Central Waste Water Treatment Plant Zagreb“, WTE Group set a milestone in the European environmental policy. The capital of Croatia, home to almost one million inhabitants and thus the focus of this rising nation, did not dispose of but a minor facility for waste water treatment, at the expense of the citizens and at the expense of the environment – in particular the river Sava. After proper international tendering, we, as consortional leaders, were assigned the designing, construction, and a 28 year operation of the facilities within a BOOT-concession.

The scope of performance comprised – beside the central treatment plant for 1.2 million inhabitants, involving an extension design to 1.5 million inhabitants – the alteration and upgrading of the old town sewer, being several miles long, the construction of the new town sewer of double the length, as well as the connection of the sewage plant to the infrastructure by means of road and bridge construction. Additionally, we provided the financing of this 260 million Euro project which constituted in those days Europe’s largest environmental project; institutes involved in the financing were KfW, Frankfort and EBRD, London.

Being concessionaire, we took on the function of a builder and project controller, as well as all commercial and administrative duties during the designing and construction period, including the subsequent operational control. Beside the concessional unit, WTE established an investment entity that was – as general contractor – responsible for the implementation of investments. Technical operations of the facilities are being recognised by an independent operations unit. Timely integration and training of professional staff provided frictionless commissioning.

Only two years after breaking ground, the mechanical stage was commissioned in April 2004. By September 2007, the completion of the plant was spurred on by successive implementation of single biological stages (25–50–75–100 %). The plant was completed while under full operation of the respective stages. Beside the biological technology for water treatment, the plant provides sludge fermentation for the purpose of biogas generation, as well as a combined heat and power station for the generation of electricity in order to minimise energy costs and residual materials. The accomplished large plant will be operated by our WTE team until 2028.
Downloads
Data sheet WWTP Zagreb
PDF-File, 2.8 MB

Zentralkläranlage Zagreb

Zentralkläranlage Zagreb

Auf dieser Anlage kommt ein Blockheizkraftwerk zum Einsatz. Damit wird mehr regenerative Energie gewonnen, als für den sicheren Betrieb der Anlage benötigt wird.
Mit der Realisierung der „Zentralen Kläranlage Zagreb“ setzte die WTE Gruppe einen Meilenstein in der europäischen Umweltpolitik. Die Hauptstadt Kroatiens, mit über einer Million Einwohnern der pulsierende Mittelpunkt des aufstrebenden Landes, verfügte nur über eine minimale Abwasserreinigung. Zu Lasten der Bürgerinnen und Bürger und zu Lasten der Umwelt, insbesondere der Save. Nach internationaler Ausschreibung wurden wir als Konsortialführer mit der Planung, dem Bau und dem 28-jährigen Betrieb der Abwasseranlagen innerhalb einer BOT-Konzession beauftragt.

Zum Leistungsumfang gehörten neben der Zentralkläranlage für 1,2 Millionen Einwohner, mit einer Erweiterungsplanung auf 1,5 Millionen Einwohner, der Um- und Ausbau des kilometerlangen Zulaufkanals der Altstadt, der Bau des doppelt so langen Neustadtkanals sowie die Anbindung der Kläranlage an die Infrastruktur durch Straßen- und Brückenbau. Zusätzlich stellten wir die Finanzierung des mit rund 350 Mio. Euro Investitionsvolumen seinerzeit wichtigsten Umweltvorhabens Europas über die KfW, Frankfurt, und die EBRD, London, sicher.

Als Konzessionär übernahmen wir die Bauherren- und Projektsteuerungsfunktion sowie alle kaufmännischen und administrativen Aufgaben während der Planungs- und Bauzeit inklusive der anschließenden Betriebsführung. WTE gründete neben der Konzessionsgesellschaft eine Investitionsgesellschaft, die als Generalunternehmen für die Umsetzung der Investition verantwortlich war. Der technische Betrieb der Kläranlage wird durch eine eigenständige Betriebsführungsgesellschaft realisiert. Die frühzeitige Integration und Schulung des Fachpersonals ermöglichte eine reibungslose Inbetriebnahme.

Nur zwei Jahre nach dem ersten Spatenstich wurde im April 2004 die mechanische Stufe in Betrieb genommen. Bis September 2007 wurde die Fertigstellung der Gesamtanlage sukzessive durch Inbetriebnahme der einzelnen biologischen Stufen (25–50–75–100 %) vorangetrieben. Unter laufendem Betrieb der jeweiligen Stufen wurde die Anlage komplettiert. Neben der biologischen Technologie zur Wasserreinigung beinhaltet die Anlage eine Schlammfaulung zur Biogasgewinnung sowie ein Blockheizkraftwerk zur Stromerzeugung, um Reststoffe und Energiekosten zu minimieren. Die fertig gestellte Großanlage wird bis zum Jahr 2028 verantwortlich durch unsere WTE Mannschaft betrieben.
Downloads
Projektdatenblatt WWTP Zagreb
PDF-Datei, 2,8 MB